Posted: October 28th, 2009 by Jimmy J

This is the 3rd installment in our series of Radio London recordings. Press play and you’re knee deep in a rare interview between Malik X and Roger S. (aka Roger Sanchez). They speak about the UK scene and discuss a “rave” held later that evening 167 Church (The Party Centre) where the two will be spinning. Malik also makes also makes some bang-on comments about the future of Toronto’s scene.

I’m fairly certain this interview pre-dates Exodus events and was likely recorded in the summer of 1991, perhaps even earlier. Around this time a posse of UK punters had united in Toronto and were on a mission to rave and Malik was describing warehouse parties as such.

This tape was compliments of Captain B. Mental a fact made obvious by two things: the Malik shout-out mash-up at the beginning made up of numerous B. Mental mentions and the stop and start B. Mental tape deck mixing I’ve previously mentioned. Having said that the recording isn’t entirely Radio London, but towards the end more of Malik’s sound bites appear “L-L-L-L-L-Locking your radio…”

It’s also full of a lot of obscure tracks that we’ve been unable to identify, so please post a comment if you recognize any of the tracks not listed below.

Track List:

  • Kicksquad – Soundclash
  • After Dark – Cardiac
  • De Lite – Wild Times
  • Arthur Baker – Kiss The Ground (dub)
  • Warp Factor 3 – Rhythm Will Make You Move
  • Sub System – Subhouse

3 Responses to “Radio London Session 3 (Side A)”

  1. darrensmooth Says:

    somewhere in the middle he plays Kiss the ground (dub) by Arthur Baker

  2. darrensmooth Says:

    last track is sub house – by sub system

  3. anthonyz Says:

    Only 19 yrs old and just found this website. Unfortunately I was born decades too late to be apart of the scene in ’91 but Toronto’s rave scene is still wicked today and Mr. Mark Oliver is still spinning sick tunes at the afterhours clubs!

    Also, at around 29min, the song Pure Pleasure (Rave Mix) – Digital Excitation starts playing and Raise Me (Maximum Height mix) – Bizzare Inc starts playing at around 33:50 and they’re not a part of the tracklist. I heard some other tracks I know in the other mixtapes but I’ve got to go back and listen again so you can add them to the tracklist! Just starting to try and pick up DJing so fortunately I’ve got quite a few names of old tracks handy 😀

Leave a Reply

We've got 23 Hop Replicas and T-Shirts!